7 Things I Absolutely Loved About Living in Philadelphia

I HAVE INTERNET AGAIN! Ok, not that big of a deal, but still. In the past few days I have become nostalgic about my past five years of living in the wonderful city of Philadelphia. After all of my times moving, I haven’t found a place I could really relate to and call home until I moved into the City of Brotherly Love. If you haven’t been before, then you’re missing out. If you have been here before, then I hope you can attest to its awesomeness.

The Food.

I learned this the last time I moved – no one knows how to correctly make a cheesesteak. Or spell it for that matter. There was a restaurant in Northern California that made it two words instead of one. Let’s be real – I would never order a cheesesteak outside of the Philadelphia area anyways, but especially not if they don’t know how to spell it. But it’s not just the cheesesteaks, it’s the Schmitters, Buff. Chick Cheesesteaks, Crab Fries, Federal Donuts, Fat Sandwiches…  I think you get my point.

City-Wide Specials.

A pounder and a shot for $5? All across the city? Sign me up! Even if it’s not happy hour, you’re still able to go out and have a fun time at the bar with your friends for cheap – no matter where you’re bar hopping to. Sure it’s usually a sub-par pounder with sub-par well alcohol, but beggars can’t be choosers. But seriously, what other city is awesome enough to think of that?

The Phanatic.

Yes, he is just that awesome so he deserves his own spot on my list. I have honestly never seen the point in having a mascot for baseball until I began attending Phillies games. He is just that cool. From dressing up like Lady Gaga, to making diving catches over the dugout, to tackling other mascots, to shooting hotdogs into the crowd out of a hotdog cannon… You just can’t beat the Phanatic.

SEPTA.

Yup. I said it. SEPTA. From the El, to trollies, Broad St. Line, trains, and buses – SEPTA really can get you wherever you want to go. It is also the easiest way to travel to sporting events, which – let’s be real – is one of my favorite uses. Want to travel outside of the city and to the suburbs? No problem. You can go via train OR bus. It takes the complexity out of traveling around the Greater Philadelphia Area. Other than NYC and D.C., I have yet to see another city that has public transportation so locked in.

Note: I’m not saying other cities don’t have public transportation locked in, just no cities I have seen yet.

Erin Express.

In Philadelphia – this is a holiday. Yes, there are plenty of cities that celebrate St. Patty’s Day – but I doubt there are cities that celebrate it for (basically) the entire month of March. Erin Express makes up for the fact that St. Patrick’s Day doesn’t always fall on a weekend. Bars open at 9 a.m. for a city-wide bar crawl the two Saturday’s leading up to March 17. That’s two back to back weekends of day-long bar crawls – any college student’s dream. And for those lucky years St. Patty’s is on a Saturday? Three Saturdays of back to back to back bar crawls! Philadelphia goes green and Erin go(es) Bragh.

The Mummers.

January 1st activities are far more popular than December 31st. At least in Philadelphia, that is. The first day of the New Year, the city shuts down for the oldest folk festival in America. Groups spend months creating costumes and compete in different categories. Philadelphians take to the streets with (hidden) cases of beer and booze and continue to ring in the New Year with the Mummers. After the parade, people crowd around Two St. and party like it’s 1999. I even got serenaded by a Mummer last year on my way into work. Definitely a way to kick off 2013.

The Pride.

You don’t have to be a sports fan to experience Philadelphia pride. It’s the city of Brotherly Love. The birthplace of ‘Merica. Home of the cheesesteak. Forever immortalized by outstanding athletes, actors, politicians, and every day people. Sure we’ll roll our eyes at you when you start singing “Innnn West Philadelphia born ‘n raised” – but trust me, we’re singing along in our heads. Philly is a city built on pride, toughness, and history. No matter how many times you throw out different disses to our sports teams, all we’ll hear is E-A-G-L-E-S EAGLES*!

*Note: I have never been, nor will I ever be an Iggles fan. But when you hear it for the entirety of football season and then some… it’s literally impossible not to sing along. 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

