I Really Don’t Care When You Read My Message

For some reason completely unbeknownst to me, people have become more obsessive about communicating on text-based platforms. Texting and Facebook messaging, for example. And for another reason that I cannot seem to explain, many people feel the need to request a “timestamp” from when you read the message. 

Needy, much?

Contrary to my mother’s belief – I am horrendous at texting. I will read a message and forget about it for five days sometimes. Granted, there are some people that I talk to that are an exception to this, but usually I’ll just skim through messages and respond eventually. 

I won’t lie, this whole timestamp thing has gotten me into a tizzy. So much so that I’ve now purposely changed some of my habits to avoid letting my phone recognize my recognition of the message. It might sound a little excessive, but if you’re needy enough to have to timestamp our friendship, then you should realize that I’m obnoxious enough to purposely avoid it. 

For example, I had my settings originally rigged so when I received a text it would come up with the senders name and “text message” for privacy reasons. That is no longer the case. Now the messages come in with a preview, allowing me to read texts without giving the timestamp-ers the power of knowing that they’ve been acknowledged. It might be passive aggressive, sure, but so is requesting a timestamp. 

My other favorite trick is keeping old messages unread. For those of you non-iPhone users, the lovely iPhone automatically opens up unread texts if they’re only from a single contact. For this reason, I have purposely kept some texts unread to ensure timestamp-er’s text remains closed. It also makes it easy to delete that contact’s text if I really don’t feel like talking to that person, but that’s a very rare occurrence.

Personally, I really don’t care when you read my message… or even if you do. Everyone is busy, so I’ve always been under the impression that people will respond when they can/want to. If I really need to talk to someone, I will pick up the phone and CALL THEM. I know it’s a hard concept for a lot of you to grasp, but Alexander Graham Bell didn’t invent these talk-machines for nothing. 

Granted, me admitting to all of this will now bring attention to the fact that I do in fact read these messages most of the time. What it also does is let you needy people know that I’m on to your games and I’m not buying in. If what your saying is really so important you have to know that I know, it’s called a phone call. Learn it, love it, use it. 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

