It’s About Time I Move on with My Life

During these past few months, I have spent a concern-able amount of time sitting on my couch and browsing through job listings on my computer. To me, it felt like my life was set on pause, that I wasn’t going anywhere despite the number of times I sent out my resume.

But then it hit me: I was looking for an excuse for my life to start.

Over the past five years, Philadelphia has become my home and the area I identify the most with when it comes to attitude and (most importantly) fandom. Even though I love the city of brotherly love, it has made me comfortable and complacent.

Growing up, our family moved a fair amount of times; be it cross-country, cross-county, or up the coast. And each time, I’ve had to learn how to adapt and create a new life. As strange as it is to say, the challenges that come with restarting are my favorite. Not only does it test your mental strength, but your confidence and intuition.  But I would have never been able to survive these moves if it hadn’t been for my parents showing me that all you have to do is have yourself and your goals – have these two things, and everything else will fall into place.

Yet after graduating college, I didn’t have any other goal than “finding a job” and I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do. I knew which general fields I enjoyed working in as well as my favored job titles, but location has always been my highest priority. No matter where I looked, companies were advertised a fast-paced job environment, but it was the fast-paced lifestyle that I had grown accustomed to living which sent me running for the mountains.

In my field, most companies will not hire someone who has to relocate unless they have a bigger degree, like an MBA, backing them. No matter of the amount of phone screenings or interviews I go through, no company is going to want to relocate the Philadelphia girl with a bachelors in communications – so I guess I’m just going to have to relocate myself.

There are a multitude of positives for moving, but there are also some negatives. But honestly I feel the biggest downside of relocating is that I will be the one of the only ones wearing orange & black at hockey games… It’s a given that I will miss all of my friends and family here, but that’s the best part of friends and family – they will stay in your life. As long as you work at it and want them to, that is.

In the end, it boils down to me following my gut. So for everyone who has helped me out, been my friend, and dealt with me for the past five (or more) years – I thank you. I am ending a chapter of my life in pursuit of a new one. Don’t worry, you’ll still have my writing to entertain you and let you know that I’m still alive and happy. I mean, that’s all that matters, right?

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “It’s About Time I Move on with My Life

  1. "Tina" says:

    Best of luck! Moves can be rough but are incredibly exciting. I know you’ll be more than fine.

Leave a Reply

